Czech: Markéta Maříková and Colorfactory…..image thieft of two images

I have often had language problems when trying to communicate with people who have used my artwork without permission. It is extremely frustration. Colorfactory is a Czech custom tee-shirt business. I have attempted to send emails which were never answered. I assume because they were in English. Translator programs work erratically, sometimes translations are perfect other times they are gibberish. I also send a DMCA claim to the Czech host company. I got back a vague message which said information was missing. I resend all my information, it was unclear what information they needed. I also send an email to customer service. I receive a conformation and nothing more.

This is the image which has been used by this company. They took two images and merged and reversed them. It is actually two (or more) of my art images. I discovered this when I did a Google search with reversed images of my artwork. I have found several thieves this way.

http://www.test.colorfactory.cz/prestashop/img/cms/originalni%20tricka_marikova_01.jpg

http://www.colorfactory.cz/cs/content/39-vytvarnici-spoluprace (image removed)

colorfactory Attached Infringement

They used “Three Legged Bird” https://www.etsy.com/listing/76671855/raven-raven-phoenix-crow-series-the They used “Inquisition” https://www.etsy.com/listing/191098358/inquisition-ii-raven-bird-crow-series

The person who designed this image is Markéta Maříková. The website has an email, I sent two and got no reply. I do not understand how my image was used here, it could be that this Markéta Maříková used this company to print these tee-shirts. I am not sure. I do know one thing, this business and this individual had no right to use my artwork for profit. They never asked for permission from me. I easily found their pirated image, they could have easily found through a Google Image search that this is my artwork and they would also learn that it is not public domain or copyright free!!

So until I can discover what the heck is going on here: Shame on you Markéta Maříková and shame on you Colorfactory

Update: Over the last week I have sent both Markéta Maříková and Colorfactory at least five emails. This evening I sent them both a link to this blog. A few minutes ago I checked the blog stats and I found that someone from the Czech Republic looked at this blog post! So they do know that they stole the images but they just don’t have the integrity or the courage to contact me. Despicable.

7/20/14 update:

today there were 17 views on the blog all from the Czech Republic. I received a comment from Markéta Maříková. I am adding her comment and my reply to this blog post:

“Hi Larry, I’m the girl you called a thief. My email you marked as spam, so I do not send messages. But to comment on this article. Sorry about that. The truth is that I was inspired by the images that I found on Pinterest, but because I’m an artist, I tried to draw them as accurately as possible according to the draft, then took pictures and made them the poster in Photoshop. I did not realize it. His posters I deleted from the store, even though I put a lot of work. Please do not be mad.
Marketa Marikova”

my reply:
Dear Marketa
“Thank you for the reply
You need to understand why I am angry. I have my artwork repined hundreds of times on Pinterest. Since Pinterest is linked to Etsy most of these pins will lead to my Etsy shop with all of my artwork. I also have my artwork re-blogged thousands of times on Tumblr, some with my credits and some with my credits removed. Some of these are pinned on Pinterest. My artwork original had my name at the bottom but my name was cropped off and now my artwork floats nameless through the web. It is still my artwork even though some people have removed my name.
What angers me most is when people think that the internet is one huge free image zone full of images to take and use for free. I appreciate that you were inspired by my art; I did find it through a Google image search. You could have done the same to find out who created the original artwork too. I also appreciate that it took you a long time to make…it also took me a long time to make my images too. I noticed on the Colorfactory page that most of the artists were credited. I did Google searched on them and found that the links were correct. The only ones that were not correct were yours, since you claimed my artwork as yours. I looked to see if your image was taken down and it is still up. If you added a credit link with my name and a link to my Etsy page, it can remain: https://www.etsy.com/shop/RAVENSTAMPS
Lastly I use this blog as a way to defend my artwork from theft either intentional or unintentional. I always attempt to contact offenders via email to ask why my art was used without my permission. Most of these emails are ignored. However once I add my post to the blog with the names and links of the offenders and then, miraculously, they read the emails and they get in touch with me.
I would appreciate it if you either remove the image or add my credits
Thank you

Final update: The image has been removed as promised. Thank you Marketa

4 thoughts on “Czech: Markéta Maříková and Colorfactory…..image thieft of two images

  1. Hi Larry, I’m the girl you called a thief. My email you marked as spam, so I do not send messages. But to comment on this article. Sorry about that. The truth is that I was inspired by the images that I found on Pinterest, but because I’m an artist, I tried to draw them as accurately as possible according to the draft, then took pictures and made them the poster in Photoshop. I did not realize it. His posters I deleted from the store, even though I put a lot of work. Please do not be mad.
    Marketa Marikova

    • Thank you for the reply
      You need to understand why I am angry. I have my artwork repined hundreds of times on Pinterest. Since Pinterest is linked to Etsy most of these pins will lead to my Etsy shop with all of my artwork. I also have my artwork re-blogged thousands of times on Tumblr, some with my credits and some with my credits removed. Some of these are pinned on Pinterest. My artwork original had my name at the bottom but my name was cropped off and now my artwork floats nameless through the web. It is still my artwork even though some people have removed my name.
      What angers me most is when people think that the internet is one huge free image zone full of images to take and use for free. I appreciate that you were inspired by my art; I did find it through a Google image search. You could have done the same to find out who created the original artwork too. I also appreciate that it took you a long time to make…it also took me a long time to make my images too. I noticed on the Colorfactory page that most of the artists were credited. I did Google searched on them and found that the links were correct. The only ones that were not correct were yours, since you claimed my artwork as yours. I looked to see if your image was taken down and it is still up. If you added a credit link with my name and a link to my Etsy page, it can remain: https://www.etsy.com/shop/RAVENSTAMPS
      Lastly I use this blog as a way to defend my artwork from theft either intentional or unintentional. I always attempt to contact offenders via email to ask why my art was used without my permission. Most of these emails are ignored. However once I add my post to the blog with the names and links of the offenders and then, miraculously, they read the emails and they get in touch with me.
      I would appreciate it if you either remove the image or add my credits
      Thank you

    • Hi, I dealt with it (but its sunday, weekdays solve it). I’m sorry that you rob people, unfortunately, it is the risk of the internet, it also happened to me. You’re admirable for me and for many people also, that is why they use your artwork .. I apologize again, I’m sorry, that was such a stupid mistake on my part.

      • Thanks Marketa. The image of the woman in profile is beautiful. I found it also on deviant art. I saw the work in progress, so I am assuming it was you.

Leave a Reply

